Juvia’s Place The Masquerade Palette Review

I first saw this palette used by Kathleen Lights in her Juvia’s Place Masquerade Palette Makeup Tutorial and I instantaneously fell in love with it.

This palette can be found on Juvia’s Place website https://www.juviasplace.com/. I kept my eye on this palette; not buying it for months, and in that time, I noticed the price of this palette had fluctuated from a sale range of $30USD to the highest retail price of $40. Currently, the price is $35USD on their site. The Mini version of this palette retails for $25USD (In my opinion, it’d be better to buy the full size for only $10 more). The Net Weight of the full size palette is 57.6G /2.03oz. Many YouTubers have given referral codes to their audiences that will let you save 10% on your order. Overall, for the quantity and quality of the product, the price is very affordable.

thumbnail_IMG_3586
The first feature of this palette that immediately caught my eye was the beautiful packaging. Each of Juvia’s Places palette is said to represent different tribes of people from a given area. The Masquerade Palette, the latest of their four palettes has this stunning artwork display and depiction of African tribal women.

The package quality itself is made of a sturdy cardboard. Once shut, it is held together via a strong magnet. It contains no mirror on the inside, leaving it very lightweight and travel.

The next feature of this palette that made me love it was the absolutely stunning selection of colors and the size of the shadow pans.

thumbnail_FullSizeRender
According to Juvia’s Place description of this palette: “The product was inspired by African Festivities filled with enormous joy and spiritual activities. The Bold Colors Represent costumes used in festivals. The nudes and browns represent the African soil and environments. The perfect balance of bolds and neutrals.” The combination of both neutral and colorful colors within this palette allows for a wide range of looks to be created with this one palette alone.

Each shadow is very pigmented. The swatches shown are done without water added. It is noted on the Juvia’s Place website that dampening a brush will make the colors appear brighter and more pigmented upon application. The shadows were created initially to help women of color have eye shadow that will be very pigmented on their skin. The shadow’s blend with ease. I was easily able to blend the shadows and apply however little or much of the individual shadow I wanted.

thumbnail_IMG_3589
There were two minuscule, but notable ‘issues’ I had with the shadows of this palette. Firstly, certain shades (typically the metallic shades) have a decent amount of fallout. Fallout in my shadows is not something that bothers me, although it did prevent me from doing my face or under-eye makeup before my eye makeup.

Secondly, I am assuming due to their pigmented nature, some of these shadows actually stained the skin on my eyelid. The shade Bori in particular (the light pink shade) stained my lid for hours after removal. I scrubbed at my eye several times with makeup remover, but to no avail. It eventually faded a couple of hours later.

My overall review of this product, is that I am head-over-heels in love with it. I use it for my various makeup looks on my Instagram page (as shown below). It is apart of my every-day makeup routine due to the neutral every-day shadows and apart of my makeup artist routine due to the more vibrant and bright colors.

I absolutely recommend this palette due to the quality and quantity of the shadows for its affordable price.

(All shadow pigments used without water or altercation) 

 

4.5 Star Rating 4.5 of 5 Stars.
The only reason I am not giving this palette 5 stars is due to the fall-out of the shadows as well as the certain shades that stain your eye. Otherwise, there are no notable cons to purchasing this palette.

Product Ingredients: Mica, Talc, Magnesium strearate, kaoli, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, iron oxides, Chromium Hydroxide Green, Magnese violet, ultramarines, FD&C Red 40 Al Lake, FD&C Blue 1 Al lake, FD&C Red 40 Al lake, Yellow 5 Al lake.
(May contain: Mica and Titanium Dioxide, Ferric Ferrocyanide)

Disclaimer: Any opinions I share are exclusively my own. We all have different skin types, tones and textures which can alter our experience with various products. Something that may not work for me can still work for you and vise versa! ♥

2 thoughts on “Juvia’s Place The Masquerade Palette Review

Leave a Reply

