Fruit of the Earth Aloe Vera 100% Gel

Aloe Vera Gel is one of those au naturel acne remedies I had always heard recommended that I decided to put to the test. The most natural route is to purchase an Aloe Vera plant, cut off one of the leaves, and use the gel directly from the plant itself. Although, if you are an unfit plant parent, like myself, you will just go to your local Walmart and pick yourself up some pre-packaged Aloe Vera Gel instead.

IMG_4414This Fruit of the Earth “Aloe Vera 100% Gel” contains 340g/12oz of Gel within the bottle and it retails for $5.22CAD ($3.90 USD).

Aloe Vera has many, many uses aside from acne treatment.
The product claims on the front of the bottle are that it is: “Moisturizing Soothing   [&] Dry Skin Relief”.
On the back of the bottle, they write the general uses for Aloe Vera Gel:
Discover the many uses of aloe! TRY IT! • AS A SHAVING GEL • HAIR STYLING • ON BLEMISHES“. The Caps Lock on the bottle was a bit intimidating. “TRY IT!”

I have never used this product for any of the listed general uses aside from blemish treatment and moisturizer purposes.


I have been applying this product to my breakout zones: my cheeks, jawline and chin, every night for over two months and I am only a quarter of the way through the bottle. The 340g of product there is in the bottle lasts absolutely ages.

I purchased this Aloe Vera Gel for the sole purpose of helping my acne. Did it do that? Yes. I have been using this very routinely, every night, in the same areas and I have noticed a significant decrease in the amount of my acne. I have several acne scars on my cheeks that I have noticed lesser in redness; and my breakouts are less frequent. Every time I use this product after cleansing, I do immediately feel like my skin feels more refreshed and clean and that is a definite pro.

This product claims to be moisturizing, but in my experience, it only tightens my skin. The only way I could see this product helping dry skin would be if you had dry patches or irritation on your skin. This aloe gel would help to heal those areas, but I would not use this as a regular day-to-day moisturizer. After applying this, I need to put on a lotion because it makes your face feel so tight.

My BIG problem with this Gel, which will be a make or break issue for many people, is that every single time I use this product, my eyes immediately burn and water. I do have more sensitive eyes than the average person, but this is a burn that would bother even someone with the most resilient eyes. It makes my eyes water so much to the point where I am essentially crying because of it. Because the gel is very fast drying, I will apply it and then keep my eyes closed for a couple of minutes to prevent the burning.

Overall, this product does help diminish my active acne and help lesser my breakouts. It burns my eyes to Hell and back, but at least my skin looks a little more flawless.
That is worth it, right…?

4a39945e66145648275fe8b5a9ef6f64_5-star-rating-system-star-rating-clipart-transparent_2255-2400 3.5 of 5 Star Rating
I did not expect myself to give this as low of a review as I concluded because of how frequently I use this product. Weighing the pros and the cons, the cons were too apparent for me to ignore.
While this product does help my acne, the burning I feel in my eyes is agonizing. It is also marketed mainly as helpful for dry skin, but I do not think that it is helpful for those with moderately dry-skin. It may help heal flaking or irritated skin, but it does moisture your skin as a regular moisturizer would.

Product Ingredients:
Aloe Barbadenis, Leaf Juice, Aloe Vera Gel, Triethanolamine, Tocopheryl Acetate, Carbomer,Tetrasodium EDTA, DMDM Hydrantoin, Diazolidinyl Urea.

Disclaimer: Any opinions I share are exclusively my own. We all have different skin types, tones and textures which can alter our experience with various products. Something that may not work for me can still work for you and vise versa! ♥

Leave a Reply

